starting strength gym
Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

Thread: Substituting bench for overhead press in SS

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Well, okay then. I stand corrected. I'm no expert. But I'm right about the joint stuff.

GZT,

You are mostly right, I was just presenting a caveat. If you think you have a tear get to the dr.

gzt may be right. I concede that. If the injury is so severe that only surgery can fix it, then only surgery can fix it. My sense, however, of the OPs injury is that it causes him pain and greatly reduced strength, not that he cannot perform the movement unloaded.

I was speaking to someone the other day (very young, smart but ignorant and very untrained) who told me they could not do any overhead pressing because of a chronic sporting induced shoulder injury. They then demonstrated to me the pressing movement they claimed they could not do! Obviously, if they can move their arms through that plane of motion (the press) they can lift a barbell. Barbell loads can be very finey tuned/scaled correct? Noone said they had to start pressing 135! They can start with a 1 pound broom stick if need be, although I think an unloaded bar is probably light enough.

The Starr rehab protocol is for muscle tears because the amount of blood that goes into those area; blood contains nutrients which then heal the tissue. That's why it works. For a non-muscle tear (is that what you mean by "joint"?) the same principle applies, only modified. Go slower and be less ambitious than one might with a muscle tear. If by "joint" you mean cartilageneuos (sp?) or ligamentous (sp?) tissue, these areas get a lot less blood flow. Therefore, you need to go slower. The same principles apply; adaptation will occur.

Thus:
    1) so long as surgery is not the only way to fix the injury (and I do mean only), and;