starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Making changes in Icf 5x5

Default Making changes in Icf 5x5

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I've been doing Icf 5x5 for the past 3-4 months but I've come to the conclusion that I can barely handle the volume. My workouts are getting too long, am plateauing very often and have injured my hips and shoulder. I was thinking of switching the shrugs, skull crushers and chins for dumbbell pullovers on workout A and switching the rows, close grip bench and curls for weighted chins on workout B. Do you think this would be okay? Would I lose any size by lowering the volume?

By icf 5x5, I assume you mean Jason Blahas program?

Before anyone could give a fully satisfactory answer they would need info like how much you squat, bench press, deadlift and press; what you weigh, your age and gender. What you eat might also be useful.

All of that being said, have you looked at the SS program. It has significantly less volume in everything, so you could probably do it for longer. You can always gain the size you want later. Consider SS a short term investment. It will make getting big easier later on.

Quote Originally Posted by kwermuth View Post
    By icf 5x5, I assume you mean Jason Blahas program?

Before anyone could give a fully satisfactory answer they would need info like how much you squat, bench press, deadlift and press; what you weigh, your age and gender. What you eat might also be useful.

All of that being said, have you looked at the SS program. It has significantly less volume in everything, so you could probably do it for longer. You can always gain the size you want later. Consider SS a short term investment. It will make getting big easier later on.