starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Programming question + Equipment Question

An unforeseen future nestled somewhere in time.

Default Programming question + Equipment Question

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Quick Stats:

Weight: 210 lbs
    Height: 5'9"
    Male
    Waist: 34 inches
    Suit jacket size: 40

Lifting Stats:

Squat: 323.5 lbs x 5 (last set is tough, dialed back a bit to avoid losing reps)
    Deadlift: 300 lbs x 5 (cautious due to past lower back injury)
    Overhead Press (OHP): 135 lbs x 5
    Bench Press: 215 lbs x 5 (was at 225 lbs x 5 for 3 sets last year when squat was weaker, now bench has dropped as squat improved)
    Chin-ups: 5 reps at body weight from dead hang with chin above the bar
    Power Cleans: 140 lbs x 5 (not trained seriously, just doing for program's sake)
    Background:

I started training after watching Rip on Art of Manliness but had a 2.5-year hiatus during COVID. I rebuilt my lifts after that. I don’t know my body fat percentage, but I can see my ribs when my arms are overhead and a shadow of my upper abs. I care about not getting fat due to past obesity and the psychological impact of gaining weight.

Lifestyle:

I work long hours (12 hours a day) in a job that requires standing the whole time (not unusual to get 6000 steps during work) and is somewhat mentally taxing (procedural medical job). However, I get to sleep 8 hours uninterrupted at night. I am not married and have no kids.

Equipment:

Squat rack
    Two barbells (Rogue Ohio barbell and Xult Olympic barbell with a mid-bar knurl)
    Rogue US-MIL Spec Bumper plates (bought during COVID): a set of 45s, 25s, 10s, 5s, 2.5s, and microplates down to 0.25 lbs
    Rogue squat rack with safety pin (Monster Lite)
    Dip matador station