starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Unique Situation - Pilot's Life

Default Unique Situation - Pilot's Life

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I am in a bit of a unique situation and need some feedback and ideas as I transition some lifts to intermediate programming.

First, I'm 41 years old and have now been through a modified NLP (I'll explain in a minute) and am currently doing a modified Advanced Novice program using the phone app.

Height: 5'7"
    Weight: 175 (I started skinny fat around 153)
    Squat: 280
    Deadlift: 355
    Press: 125 (had a should dislocation a decade ago and this has always been my weak lift)
    Bench: 176

My situation is unique in that I am a pilot who works a schedule roughly equating to 7 days on, 7 days off. It varies somewhat and I could be home for anywhere from 5 to 14 days straight and gone up to 9 days. It averages to 7 on, 7 off. I know my schedule up to 2 months in advance so I can program plan somewhat...

I never missed a lift day when I was home during my NLP. Interestingly, I had an exercise specific genetic workup done a couple years ago and they found that I genetically recover from heavy lifting (fast twitch) significantly slower than the average male. This explains previous failures of the NLP when I attempted it about a decade ago when I didn't travel. So despite this NLP being punctuated by forced rest periods of usually 5-7 days I made continual progress. I made sure to limit the long rest by lifting the last possible moment before going to work and the first possible moment getting home. But I also ensure a minimum of 48 hours rest and tried to make 72 hours the norm.