starting strength gym

Thread: Need an opinion!

Default Need an opinion!

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hello people,

I've been on SS for 6 weeks now. And i've kind of hit a dead end and need some advice. I'm 24, 6'1 and before starting the program i weighed 205lb. After 6 weeks i lost all the fat and now i weigh 180lb. I was a total novice, never worked out before in my life and my lifts sucked balls in the start.

Now my figures are:

Squat= 190 lb 3 x 5
    Bench= 125 lb 3 x 5
    Deadlift= 225lb 1 x 5
    Press= 90lb 3 x 5

I feel like im about to stall. I dont think i will be able to make the progression in the next two workouts without compromising form. So my questions are,

1) Should i after plateau go down 60 lb on all the lifts, and start a hypertrophy regime? Come back to my current lifts or continue with the linear progression.

2) I workout deadlifts and squat 3 times a week alternating the bench and press. I can't do power cleans because i dont have bumper plates, and no place in a 200 mile radius to me has them lol. Do you think working the deadlift is too much?

3) Any comments about the figures, improvement for a complete novice in 6 weeks?

Thanks for your input!

Time to gain the weight back, this time as mostly muscle. Have you read the book or these forums? You should do so and you would realize that the reason you are stalling is because you do not weigh enough. Eat some food.

Quote Originally Posted by TomC View Post
    Time to gain the weight back, this time as mostly muscle. Have you read the book or these forums? You should do so and you would realize that the reason you are stalling is because you do not weigh enough. Eat some food.