starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I felt out of practice or something today

Default I felt out of practice or something today

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I'm very new to weight lifting at all. I've been following the Starting Strength program with 5lb jumps (I'm female and 47 years old) and doing deadlifts each session and no power cleans. I've been making slow and steady progress. Frequently I will have to repeat the same weight as last session on one of the lifts because last time I couldn't complete all the reps, but I always do better than the last time so far.

At first, before I decided to follow something closer to the Starting Strength program, I was doing bench press and overhead press every time. Now I'm alternating them. So this was the first time I went to do bench press with a stretch of 5 days in between.

Last time I did 65lbsx2x5, 65x1x4
    This time I did 65lbsx1x3, 60x2x5

I got worse. I felt out of practice or something.

Do you think I should go back to doing bench press every time so that my body doesn't lose the strength I've struggled to develop? Or is a set-back like this pretty normal? Just a bad day?

Hi Diane, I've been following your log. Two things: You did have a bad day on your last workout as you reported in your log so maybe its that. However, you have been hovering at around 65lbs for your bench for 3 weeks. You might consider a deload to 55lbs and then eek up at 2.5lb increments. My wife has lots of trouble with the bench press at about the same weight as you are using, so we have been microloading her up very slowly. Its working. I also think it may be a bad idea to start doing them every workout. Going back and forth between press and bench press is in the program for a reason. According to Rip it balances the work on the shoulders and keeps them healthy. Good luck and keep up the great work.