starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Low Testosterone

Default Low Testosterone

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Fellas,

Already pestered a few guys via PM after doing a search on the subject, thought I'd open it up for forum feedback.

Got my testosterone levels checked last week.

2013: 282ng/dL @ age 34

2010: 626ng/dL @ age 31 (this was during my CrossFit days; I was pummeling myself with SEALFit at the time)

I work as a professional firefighter, at a fairly busy station. I've been doing barbell work for just over two years, mostly LP. I had a week off in the week leading up to the latest test, with 8-9 hours a night and perfect nutrition (no drinking, take creatine, BCAAs, ZMA, melatonin, D3, eat pretty much Paleo, etc.). No DL session the night before.

I'm pretty concerned about my levels, especially en lieu of the fact I'm experiencing many of the symptoms associated with low T; they include

• Memory loss
    • Difficulty concentrating/focusing/listening to others
    • Not as social
    • Loss of wit/smart-assery
    • Loss of libido
    • Increased BF
    • Waking up to piss every night

These symptoms have been worsening over the past few years. I'm a highly motivated person. Read about 40 books a year, train consistently, very dedicated to job. Just feeling like something is "missing".

I feel like this might be affecting my training, as well. Considering my profession, this is important to me. I have another firefighter buddy who recently started TRT as well. His total T was 115 @ age 38. I suspect my levels are normally even lower, and were likely mitigated by a week off, and that low T is common among firefighters due to recovery/stress/cortisol issues.

I've been training with a SS coach, and am utilizing Jordan for nutrition coaching. My nutrition has been dialed the past 7 weeks. When I'm off duty, I get 8-9 hours sleep every night. I don't drink alcohol.