starting strength gym
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Zombie Survival Training Log

Default Zombie Survival Training Log

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    This is going to be my training log as well as a spot to post thoughts on training and life based on my years of doing various things in the weight room, sports, and life in general. I was an Army Officer and worked in special operations before I got out to open my gym. I've got an interest in survival (though I'm no through and through survivalist). Especially being that I live in hurricane country and as we saw with Katrina, things can go down hill fast. Also, I think that civilization as we know it is a fragile thing, especially economically. Again, bad things are very possible. So, my training is fitness training for this sort of thing as well as my sport (MMA/BJJ).

Basically my goal is to be a really good all around lifter, have great conditioning, and build my GPP for grappling and MMA which I think also prepares me for any potential survival situation that may or may not come. Basically I want to be good at lifting and pretty good at everything else and not suck at anything. I'm a purple belt in bjj, have a great wrestling background as well as one of the best wrestling coaches in the country, and I'm working to slowly continue building my boxing and muay thai ability. Yes, I've got a lot to work on, but I don't find it impossible. I'm the owner and head trainer at the Dammit Gym in St. Petersburg, FL, which can make training difficult to fit in but also be an advantage to train when I want. It always depends on what kind of time I have. My training mixes strength training and crossfit, basically, but I put my own spin on it with a lot of strongman and grip work for grappling.