starting strength gym

Thread: Help with lower back rounding with flat shoes but knee pain with Oly shoes? Video inc

Default Help with lower back rounding with flat shoes but knee pain with Oly shoes? Video inc

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    First post - hope I'm not being redundant here but could not find much on this subject specifically. Apologies in advance for the long post.

A few years back, decided I wanted to start lifting and exercising, having not done much of that before. I read the SS book and it made a lot of sense to me. Feeling enlightened, I decided I wanted to do the program.

A complete beginner to lifting, I began working on learning the movements. I could not get the squat form down, specifically in regards to lower back rounding at the bottom, and then life got in the way and I gave up.

Fast-forward a few years, I’m married and have two kids and feel motivated again to get strong.

In my previous attempt a few years back, I had been wearing the Reebok CrossFit Lite TR shoes to learn all the lifts because I specifically liked the no heel-drop, high-top, and wide toe-box specs. I don't have flat feet, or particularly high arches, but something about the shoes always felt right to me. This time around, I started relearning the lifts a few months back with these same flat-soled shoes and could not correct the same stubborn lower-back rounding issue.

I had been watching Rip's videos and reading the articles about the benefits of lifting shoes and thought they might give me added flexibility to hit depth without rounding at the bottom.