starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: JamesF training log

Cool JamesF training log

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi all!

I started lifting with Starting Strength in 2011 and since then have been an on-again, off-again lifter. In 2024 I became a father to twins and so for now, escaping to the gym twice a week is my outlet to sanity. I really enjoy these old-school forums and so am very excited to share in the community here.

Insofar as training, I'm currently running periodised training for my front squat and because it is so weak, linear progression for my strict press (based on Bill Starr's program outlined here). I started with 5x3 at 48kg week one and have now progressed to 58kg in six weeks which is a great start.

Stats
    Height: 5'9"
    BW: 81kg (should be at least 85kg)
    Best Competition Lifts: SQ 160 BP 120 DL 210.

Saturday, 8 September 2024
    - Front Squat: 1x1 at 125, 5x3 at 115
    - Strict Press: 6x3 at 56, 1x8 at 43
    - Chin Ups: 1x3 at +10, 3x8 at BW
    - DB Step Ups: 4x10 at 16
    - Side Plank Leg Raises: 4x10

Tuesday, 10 September 2024
    - Front Squat: 5x3 at 102
    - Strict Press: 3x5 at 50, 1x10 at 40
    - Dips: 4 sets of 5 (10, 15, 20, 25), 1 set of 20
    - Seated Cable Row: 4x12 at 59.5
    - Prone Back Extension Holds: 4x45 secs.

Continuing to taper down the Front Squat volume and ramp up intensity, looking to test 1RM in about two weeks and hoping for 140kg. Strict Press continues to progress well, adding reps or load each week.
    Last edited by JamesFazz; 09-09-2024 at 10:18 PM.

Saturday, 14 September 2024
    - Front Squat: 1x1 at 123, 1x1 at 131, 5x2 at 118
    - Strict Press: 3x3 at 58, 1x2 at 58, 1x10 at 42
    - Chin Ups: 1x3 at +12.5, 3x8 at BW
    - DB Step Ups: 4x10 at 20
    - Side Plank Leg Raises: 4x10.

Front Squat really strong, expecting a fairly significant PR next week.