starting strength gym

Thread: Working around injuries with clients

Default Working around injuries with clients

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi Rip & crew,

Currently coaching clients and one area I would like to improve on is working with/around injuries (or symptoms) my clients present with.

For example, I would like to understand in what situations it is fine to "train through the pain", and in what situations it isn't.

I'm aware this is case-dependent and that there is no one-size-fits-all answer. I'm looking for a starting point to gain a deeper understanding and improve my skills in this area.

I have no formal background in physical therapy/rehabilitation.

Appreciate your insights

Quote Originally Posted by s.oliver View Post
    Hi Rip & crew,

Currently coaching clients and one area I would like to improve on is working with/around injuries (or symptoms) my clients present with.

For example, I would like to understand in what situations it is fine to "train through the pain", and in what situations it isn't.

I'm aware this is case-dependent and that there is no one-size-fits-all answer. I'm looking for a starting point to gain a deeper understanding and improve my skills in this area.

I have no formal background in physical therapy/rehabilitation.

Appreciate your insights
    One of the best rehabilitation coaches I’ve ever met is someone who also has no formal education in physical therapy or rehabilitation. In fact, he is a project manager for a security system company in Australia. If I were injured, I’d seek his services before I ever sought the services of a PT, outside of maybe a handful who are associated with the Starting Strength community.