starting strength gym

Thread: Uneven squat soreness

Default Uneven squat soreness

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I've been squatting for over 12 years with what I thought was good form, but now into my 40s, I've noticed that for the past 2-3 years, my right (dominant) leg always gets way more sore, stiff/tensed after each squat session.

I've filmed myself and visually it seemed like the proper stance so I went to a physiotherapist that showed me that in the bottom of the squat I ever so slightly shift my weight to the right leg. He recommended I do single legged deadlifts and some lunges/bulgarian squats but it hasn't helped much in rectifying this problem. Both legs feel equally strong by the way when working them out individually, I can do pistols, I can use the same weight for lunges/bulgarian squats without issues.

1 month ago I was doing some barbell front lunges with 185lbs. I was still a bit sore, in the right leg as usual, from a heavy squat session a few days prior but the weight felt light. On the last rep of the last set I felt something pop on the inside of my right leg and felt pain right away.

Visited the physio again and he confirmed a grade 1 adductor tear in the right leg that healed nicely within 2-3 weeks after doing front box squats and other light exercises, slowly building back up to my usual weights.

Can anyone offer some advice as to what might be happening and how I can correct this ? I realize I'm getting older and the last thing I want is to get benched due to a more serious injury caused by this pesky problem.

Thank you!

Quote Originally Posted by hyperg View Post