starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Overpronation and Lifting

Default Overpronation and Lifting

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Howdy,

I started lifting in the middle of last year, following a pseudo-SS program. It worked for a few months, but at a point I began to develop knee pain in my right knee. I thought the problem was my squat form, so I got the help of some other people who had been lifting for longer and was assured that I was going to parallel and that my knees were tracking my feet during squats. They did not see relevant issues with my other forms. I reluctantly gave up on lifting with family members implying that it's just impossible for some people to lift weights.

However, after a few months of not lifting, the knee pain persisted and even seemed to get worse. After visiting an orthopedic doctor, an MRI revealed that the knee pain was caused by my knee cap going off track, but I was surprised to discover that the problem was actually being caused by my right foot. A quick analysis of my gait lead him to say that I was overpronating my right foot and that always walking like this was driving my knee cap off track. A pair of Brooks Adrenaline GTS running shoes, some Superfeet insoles and a few weeks of PT (with some take-away stretches/exercises that were supposed to "pull the knee cap and keep it on track") and I was good. I never got to "see" if my knee cap returned to its track, but the shoes made the pain go away. Similarly, I replaced barefoot walking with walking in some Superfeet sandals as just a few minutes of walking barefoot would bring the knee pain back.

My feet when I attempt to stand neutral: http://i.imgur.com/d37IR.jpg
    My feet when I stand naturally: http://i.imgur.com/BtkmW.jpg