starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Ready for the intermediate level

Default Ready for the intermediate level

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Mark:
    I have been training at the novice level for 5 months. I have done 1 reset on the squat and 1 reset on the press so far. I have gain about 23 lbs and improved all my lifts considerably. I have reached the target weight on the squat for my current bodyweight as listed on the chart at the end of PP. The other lifts are lagging a little behind as far as reaching the target weight on that chart. It's getting a lot harder to progress each session, especially on the squat. Quite ofent I get stuck on a particular weight for a couple of sessions before I get my 3 sets of 5. My routines are a little longer than 90 minutes at this point. I can feel a reset on the squat soon approaching. My question to you is; in your experience that's this sound like the time for a change in programming or should I wait for that second reset on the squat before I change the programming?

You can either wait for one more reset, or go ahead and change to intermediate now. But you are presenting the classic end-of-novice situation. Nice job.

Mark:
    My goal before I reach the intermediate level is to have all my lifts reach their maximun potential. Like I mentioned before my squats are already there but improvement has become a lot harder and I feel I'm about to stall again. My deadlifts are moving up fine, but I'm not recuperating from them as well as I used to(I'm using the A & B alternating days suggested in your books) Seems like doing deadlifts every other session may be a bit too much. My presses are however lagging behind and I would like to have them catch up before I move to the intermediate level. So, please let me know what you think of the following plan I have in order to achieve my goals.