starting strength gym

Thread: Squat Check

Default Squat Check

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    First off I'd like to let you know that I'm a Cop and have been training in CrossFit for 8 months. I got my level 1 cert and I'm an Academy PT Instructor for my Department (large department in the San Francisco Bay Area in California). We've switched over to using CrossFit for our PT programming, which means we are teaching every single new recruit how to properly lift weights, instead of just running them into the ground and making them do pushups until their arms fall off. I'm excited that eventually the entire department will have been taught how to squat, deadlift, shoulder press, clean, and bench based on your standards. There will be a lot of us in Law Enforcement that will be bigger and stronger for it, and therefore safer out on the street, and we appreciate it.

I've read SS which was absolutely stellar. I'm now 6 weeks into the basic SS program. Hopefully I've got most things squared away with my squat form, but would like to make sure.

185lbs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=djVpYJR0b3w

215lbs
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YCJ65Q4vHDI

Coach, thanks for your commitment and contributions to the world of lifting.

Both look pretty good to me. The first video at 185 shows a slight tendency to wait on the knee unlock -- hips and knees at the top should happen at the same time, with knees going forward and out and the hips going back. But it didn't cause a problem at the bottom and the squats looked pretty good. The second video at 215 looked good too, with a slight tendency to have a soft upper back. This is fixed by lifting the elbows up in the back and lifting the chest at the same time, which locks the thoracic spine in extension.

Thanks coach. I'll work on the knee unlock, and keeping my chest up. Much obliged.