starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Have you heard of Allergy Immunotherapy (Allergy shots)?

Default Have you heard of Allergy Immunotherapy (Allergy shots)?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey Rip,

I've been doing these for a couple of years now. It involves getting an allergy test to see what seasonal allergies you are allergic to, and mixing them in a vial for a subcutaneous injection. It begins with something like 0.01 mL 1:10000 of the final dose, and works up to maintenance dose 0.5mL 1:1. You come back for the shots every week or so, slowly building up the amount and dosage. It uses the principles of stress-recovery-adaptation to facilitate this.

I do feel like it has improved my seasonal allergies. Just wondering if you have ever heard of this or known someone that has tried it.

Thanks,
    Brendan

It has made the medical services industry a lot of money over the past 70 years. I don't know if they work, probably not.

I've gone through this as a kid for a bee allergy because I was getting escalating reactions and had a family history of anaphylaxis to bees.

Good for getting me over my fear of needles as a kid, I don't know if it worked, I've only had one sting since and it caused no reaction beyond local swelling. I was told you need 2-3 stings with no reaction to the sting to count it as a success, one of the nurses said in the "good old days" they used to put an actual bee on you to sting you to test.

I had a blood test a few years back to test my allergy and the results for the relevant antigens were level 4 out of a 7 level scale which was described as "possibly allergic, possibly not."

I'd need to be stung a few more times to know whether it worked or not.