starting strength gym

Thread: What are the causes of knee pain during squats?

Default What are the causes of knee pain during squats?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I am a novice and have not been squatting for long or using heavy weights. I'm still getting knee pain after squatting.

The pain is on the inner part of the knee, on both the right and left leg, just below the kneecap.

I see there are many threads on this subject, so it must be a common problem.

Without seeing my form, you wouldn't be able to correct my mistake. But it would be helpful if you could list some of the common causes of this problem.

What typically causes squat knee pain?

You have to separate the chronic pains from the ones induced by flexibility, form, etc. Could be an interesting thread.

PS: I do suffer from knee pain too, but it's chronic.

Quote Originally Posted by fmerges View Post
    You have to separate the chronic pains from the ones induced by flexibility, form, etc. Could be an interesting thread.

PS: I do suffer from knee pain too, but it's chronic.
    Its not chronic pain... I only get this pain when I squat, and it goes away when I take a break from squatting..

I assume there are many common mistakes that lead to pressure on knee... right?

You could be shoving your knees out too much, it would make sense biomechanically.

Knees too far forward + your weight too far forward could do it.

Quote Originally Posted by jon cowie View Post
    That's where your medial collateral ligaments are, and they get strained when the knees shift medially (together) when the knees are bent (ie. during squats). There are a bunch of other things that it could be, but that is what would be a sensible starting point
    So you think my knees might be too far inwards? Someone else said I might be shoving my knees outwards too much...