starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What should my goals be?

Default What should my goals be?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I've been lifting weights for most of the summer, but not always with consistent attendance, and I'm just learning how to program my sets and lift properly. This fall I'm going to work really hard in the gym and get some instruction from a local pro. I want to set some goals for myself, but I don't know what's realistic. I want something I have to work for, but still be achievable. My time frame is now until Christmas. Here's where I'm at right now:

6'
    155 lbs (need to bring this up too)
    27 years old

Work set weights (I haven't done 1 rep max tests)
    Squat: 165
    Deadlift: 175
    Bench: 125
    Press: 95

What can I realistically achieve with 4 good months of work? Keep in mind I'm a retaliative noob. I'm up about 10-15% on each lift over the spring and summer.

I would shoot for a 900 total (squat, bench, DL). It could be a 300 squat, 200 bench, and 400 DL (or any kind of combo that gets you a 900). This would be for 1RM's, so I think it could be done, especially if you bulk up a little.

Best of luck!

How much weight should I look to gain? If I hit the numbers the last poster listed, will that give me big speed and vert gains too?

I think I'd aim to gain 40-50 lbs over the next 1-2 years. I don't think strength training alone will help you with speed or vert. You'll need more specialized training for that. Getting stronger won't hurt though, just be wary of gaining excess fat.

EDIT: You don't need to gain that much for a 900 lb total, but eventually I think 190-205 is a pretty good weight for a strong 6' guy.