starting strength gym

Thread: Necessity drives adaptation? (will it make my cleans better)

Default Necessity drives adaptation? (will it make my cleans better)

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I have a pathetic clean. I squat 120kg at 75kg bodyweight (high bar) but my best ever clean is a mere 60kg. My deadlift is probably around 160kg but havent checked recently.

My technique for a power clean is very good, but in terms of squat cleaning I struggle to get down fast enough. So I actually find it harder than power cleaning.

Now, no matter how much I practice I have never been able to break free of this ratio of clean : squat/deadlift. In fact, as my squat had increased my clean has stayed pretty much the same. Even back when I was a noob at barbells trying to hit a bodyweight squat I could still clean only marginally less than I can do now. My problem seems to be a total lack of natural explosiveness.

Now I was thinking (as I have tried pretty much everything else) If I gave up the squat stands and onyl allowed myself to squat (front) or press weights that I cleaned first. And conduct all my training in this manner, whether I might force my body to adapt to cleaning greater loads?
    Last edited by Dastardly; 06-23-2012 at 06:55 PM.

Forcing yourself to clean more (both more often and more weight) might get you where you need to go, sure. It's worth a shot.

More likely that your squat strength will adapt down to the weight you can clean than that your clean will adapt up. If your power clean is better than your full clean you are more deficient in technique than in explosiveness. It might be better to keep squatting as you are and add a dedicated clean day a couple times a week to develop speed under the bar.

I would just clean all of your presses and then add extra power clean sessions. I wouldn't eliminate other things. I definitely wouldn't switch to front squats that you can clean.