starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Training effect of 3 sets of 5 deadlifts

Default Training effect of 3 sets of 5 deadlifts

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    70 years old, 5' 7", 170 -75, intermediate. I'm doing a 4-day program that does a 5 - 3 - 1 weekly rep rotation for 3 sets across. I just got done doing 3 work sets of 5 deadlifts. Rattling, shaking, grinding, but I got them done, and with 5 lbs more than originally planned! The curious thing is that I'm not completely worn out. I've been doing this program for a few months, so do you think that doing them has built up some work capacity?

I keep thinking about cutting it back to 1 set of 5 (as generally recommended) at a slightly heavier weight, but if 3 x 5 is having a good effect, I'll keep on doing them. Nothing else seems quite as hard for a few days after, and I don't seem to be having any recovery problems I can identify.

Are you squatting and deadlifting in the same session?

Light squats. 5 sets of 3 at 85 - 90% of my 5 rep working weight, before deadlifting. Normally I do some RDLs and shrugs after DLs, but not on fives week. Just doesn't seem necessary somehow...

Quote Originally Posted by allent View Post
    Ain't broke, don't fix.
    Normally good advice. Just trying to anticipate the trade-offs before they bite me in the ass.

What are you basing the loading off of is it LO or a percentage of 1RM?

Doing multiple sets helps generate metabolic fatigue (to stimulate more hypertrophy) and can help with motor unit learning. The trade off is that more volume is harder to recover from. You might just ride the progress out until you can't recover anymore then reduce your volume.

Also, Rip has some info out there about training as an older lifter, you might want to check it out. Should be able to find it easily via Google.

Well, how many lbs are you pulling

Quote Originally Posted by Fiddler View Post