starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Just starting out - squat form check

Post Just starting out - squat form check

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    I'm a total beginner so I'm starting out with very light weight just trying to get my form right. I set up my video at a 45 degree angle per the sticky and trimmed the beginning and end to make it as short as possible. I really appreciate any tips you guys have for me.

I read about 'TUBOW' so I tried putting a 4x4 touching the toe of my left shoe. I noticed that I am moving it a bit so I'll have to keep an eye on that.

Thanks for taking the time to help a newb!

Here's the video:
    https://onedrive.live.com/?cid=99308...FsVuZ70JQkUJr0

Quote Originally Posted by rt2726 View Post
    I set up my video at a 45 degree angle per the sticky and trimmed the beginning and end to make it as short as possible. I really appreciate any tips you guys have for me.
    You're a good newb, I like you already. You do have a few things to work on, so I'll give a few "big" ones to start with.

1) Keep your eyes (and head) down in the same position throughout the rep (i.e., don't lift your head up as you ascend). Pick a point on the floor 4-6 feet in front of you and stare at it. Don't look away. Put an actual object there if you need something to focus on.

2) Your first movement as you descend appears to be breaking at the knees first and sending them forward. Were I coaching you in person, I'd cue you break at the hips/sit back earlier.

3) Partially as a consequence of your not doing #1, you are lifting your chest a lot on the descent, rather than using your hips to drive out of the bottom. Instead, think about "pointing your nipples at the floor" and driving up hard with your ass, and then stand up straight at the top.

Using the TUBOW for now is a good idea too.