starting strength gym
Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Girlfriend Program

Default Girlfriend Program

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hey,

I was hoping to get some help here. My girlfriend wants to start coming to the gym with me. She's in decent shape, hikes a lot and does yoga several times per week but she wants to lose about 10 pounds and become stronger for her job. She's a geologist so her job requires frequent lifting of rock samples that weigh anywhere from 40 - 80 lbs.

I've been doing starting strength off and on as my rotational schedule allows. I'm also a geologist that works four weeks out of town with no access to a gym then 2 weeks off. Considering my schedule, I've had decent success with the program. I have to reset a bit each time I hit the gym but my overall lifts have progressed and I've become stronger. This fall, I'm going back to working normal hours and I'll be able to commit three solid months to doing starting strength properly.

Sorry, got off topic there. Anyways, my girlfriend wants to start coming to the gym with me. I know that she won't want to lift everyday because she likes running and doing cardio but she has expressed interest in lifting.

I was wondering what sort of program I should get her on? I was thinking of getting her on the starting strength program with power cleans substituted for something a bit less intense and less complicated. I think the simple, compound lifts would do wonders for her at her job when it comes to overall strength. Are there any other lifts or considerations that should be made because she is a female?

I was also thinking of recommending an ACBC - workout A, Cardio workout, workout B, Cardio workout - instead of ABAB like I do. I only say this because I know that she won't want to solely lift 3 days a week.

Any thoughts and advice would be great.