starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Time for damage control?

Lightbulb Time for damage control?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi,

I am kind of new here, though I have been a long time lurker. I have been training for a total of ~13 months, and as with other beginners made a lot of mistakes along the way.

To provide a bit of context, I am currently 25 years old, and prior to training was
    - skinny fat
    - poor work capacity
    - never been in a gym my entire life,

Progression in composition (using 3 site skin fold)
    Weight, body fat %, total fat, lean body mass
    68 kg (149.6 lb), 17%, 11.56 kg (25.43 lb), 56.44 kg (124.17 lb)
    74 kg (162.8 lb), 20%, 14.80 kg (32.56 lb), 59.20 kg (130.24 lb)
    78 kg (171.6 lb), 21%, 16.38 kg (36.04 lb), 61.62 kg (135.56 lb)
    72 kg (158.4 lb), 14%, 10.08 kg (22.18 lb), 61.92 kg (136.22 lb)
    84 kg (184.8 lb), 20%, 16.80 kg (36.96 lb), 67.20 kg (147.84 lb)

Height: 170 cm (5 " 7)
    Total net weight gain: 16 kg (35.20 lb)
    Total net fat gain: 5.24 kg (11.53 lb)
    Total net lean body mass gain: 10.76 kg (23.67 lb)

Progression in lifts
    Squat: 40 kg (88 lb), 3x5 --> 140 kg (308 lb), 3x5
    Deadlift: 60 kg (132 lb), 1x5 --> 160 kg (352 lb), 1x5
    Benchpress: could not do a single push up --> 80 kg (176 lb), 3x5
    Power clean: the bar --> 85 kg (187 lb), 5x3
    Press: could not press broom stick --> 45 kg (99 lb), 3x5
    Chin up: zero --> 15,14,13
    2 miles (3.2 km): 25 minutes --> 14 minutes, oddly enough running a better time with more body fat and weight.

My bench press, and press seem a bit behind, though I think its a psychological thing, and working hard on it.