starting strength gym

Thread: Going Backwards

Default Going Backwards

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi. I have a question regarding programming. I've been working through an LP for about 6 months now. I'm at the point where every workout is pretty much a limit set. I worked up to 190x3x5, but once I increased to 192.5, everything fell apart. I only managed to get one set of three. So I had my light workout on Wednesday at 170 ( which didn't feel very light) and attempted 192.5 again yesterday. It was even worse, I was only able to manage one rep, then failed. I was frustrated, and I still wanted to do something, so I decreased to 175 and did four more sets of three, which felt more difficult than they should have. I know it's time to switch to an intermediate program, but I don't think that in the state I was in yesterday that I could even manage a 3RM @ 190 now. I feel as if I'm going backwards now Any suggestions on what I should do. Thanks, and Happy Holidays!

Sarah,

I assume we're talking about squat and for 3 sets of 5 right? At this point its probably time for a small deload week. How do the other lifts look?

Today is Sunday, Friday is Christmas...

So tomorrow squat: 175x5 only 1 set, complete the rest of the work (bench/press and deadlift) as prescribed.

Take Tues and Wed off.

Train Thurs: Squat 180x5 for only 1 set, complete the rest of the work (bench/press and deadlift) as prescribed.

Then take the rest of the week off.

Let us know how it goes.

Sorry Matt, What I meant to say was I've been doing 5 sets of three. I assume the deload week would still pretty much be the same though, but maybe doing two sets of 175x3 instead of two maybe?

Correct. What's your age and bodyweight?

Are you traveling this week? Really try to make this week a recovery week if you can. Eat a bunch of good calorie-dense food, get extra sleep, etc.