starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Progressing Too Cautiously?

Default Progressing Too Cautiously?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi Coach,

I've read SS many times over, searched this website, and scoured google for thoughts but haven't been able to come up with an answer:

I've mountain biked for 6 years and several times took up weight lifting only to drop it after a month or so. In other words, I'm a complete novice. The biggest issue I face is that I injure my tendons quite easily (used to have shoulder issues after doing push ups, and my knees will seize up unless I stretch my legs religiously every day).

I'm currently 3 weeks into SS and have done everything as recommended, not adding anything to the program or subtracting. I'm also trying to eat as much as possible.

My question is this: due to my propensity for injuring my joints I'm wary of making more than 5 lb jumps in any exercise. Is this a problem? Am I wasting my initial ability to make rapid gains? If it's not an issue, how should I adjust my diet to reflect this slower progression (so that I'm not gaining excessive weight without putting it to good use)? Here's my progression over the past 10 workouts:

Squat: 45-90 lb in steady 5lb increments
    Bench: 85-105 in steady 5 lb increments (wasn't able to complete 3x5 at 105 last workout, not sure why but chalking it up to not eating enough that morning, poor technique, and dehydration)
    Press: 45-65 in steady 5 lb increments
    Deadlift: 115-160 in steady 5 lb increments

All this other shit goes down to the sub-forums later, but how do you know you're injuring your tendons?

What's with starting off the bench at 85lbs and the squat at 45lbs even with 6 years of mountain biking? The math doesn't add up here...

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post