starting strength gym

Thread: Forearm pain during OHP

Default Forearm pain during OHP

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi
    My name is Asaf and i'm 23 years old.
    I've been training for about 2 months now.
    I've always felt a pain in my left forearm during the press immediately after I finish lowering the bar back down.
    It's a small pain. I feel it when I do my warm-up with an empty bar (but not if I emulate the motion without it) and it increases the more I add weights. It has gotten to a point where it becomes a distraction during the exercise.

It's a strange pain, feels more like a contraction and it's a bit hard to put to words to a non-English native speaker.

I have no former injuries.
    Squat: 102.5kg
    Deadlift: 105kg
    Bench: 60kg
    Press: 40
    Weight: ~65kg (143.3 Pounds)*
    Height: 167cm (5'6'')

This is where the pain occurs:

Let me know if there's any information I left out. I progress in all the other exercises but I fail the press quite a bit because of how the pain distracts me.

*I know I should "Eat more!". I do, but I just started 2 months ago.

Let's see a video of your press. A 40 kg press should not cause anything to hurt besides your pride.

Well I believe it has little to do with technique as my technique is symmetrical, so even if it's wrong (and i'm sure it's not perfect) the pain itself is very peculiar.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gnwCb8eGQrQ

So after watching yourself push the bar forward, wiggle a lot, and often step forward near the top of the press, you feel your technique is sound?

I don't guarantee that any of this will help the pain in your forearm, but it will make your press better.

• Take 3 to 5 kg off the bar. You need to be able to make all five reps and do so with reasonable form.