starting strength gym

Thread: Best time for conditioning

Default Best time for conditioning

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hello everyone, my name is Dan, and I am a newb and this is my first post. I do apologize if this has been answered already, but I searched for this on the forum and came up with a bazillion results of peoples training logs, and couldn't find my answer.

First- a little background. I am following Starting Strength as written (shocking- I know). No mucking around and changing things I don't like. I am very pleased with the progression, and am feeling much stronger and noticing a large amount of muscle mass already gained.

My athletic goals are to eventually one day compete in power lifting, a I have found a good amount of love for the sport over my time with barbell training, and feel it is a good goal to aspire too.

I am also training for indoor rowing competition as well. The rowing plan I use has 6 days of rowing, 1 speed work (short, hard max effort intervals), 1x Tempo session (500m-1500m distances @ or slightly above 2k time), and 1x hard distance session (ie 5k max effort), +3 easy row sessions (8-12k).

Alright- now- Before the way I had set up my rows was I would do my intervals the SAME day as when I was doing SS. This worked quite well for a time, but as the squat numbers have climbed (and the workout times have increased with adding chins and back extensions), I am very physically tired and I am worried that the already taxed muscles will be more prone to injury if I do my interval rows afterwards.

So- the obvious answer would be- switch the intervals to the off days of SS and do your easy row sessions the same day as SS- but my fear of this is that the rowing intervals will impair my recovery from SS.