starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Adding good mornings without screwing up The Program.

Default Adding good mornings without screwing up The Program.

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I have a muscular imbalance in my low back.
    During the time I took off, I did a good amount of good mornings after light deadlifts. This helped tremendously.

And now that I'm on The Program once again, I finally find that my low back is not limiting me in squats. Though squats last night were as hard as they've ever been, i did NOT have an issue of doing squat-mornings.

Good mornings also alleviate my back pain. I stopped them when I restarted the program, but I want to keep them up.

I'm thinking the least 'intrusive' way to insert them would be...

At the END of deadlift day, two sets of 8 at 50% of deadlift work weight.

Any input?

Seems a little heavy if you kind of want to use them as a "recovery" exercise. I might start with 30% and go from there. Are you deadlifting once a week? Are you still squatting heavy 3 times a week, or are you using a light squat day?

Quote Originally Posted by WorkoutNick View Post
    Seems a little heavy if you kind of want to use them as a "recovery" exercise. I might start with 30% and go from there. Are you deadlifting once a week? Are you still squatting heavy 3 times a week, or are you using a light squat day?
    I'm currently squatting 3 days a week, adding 10lbs per workout, and alternating deadlifts with power cleans. I'm still lifting fairly light. Last squat was 195, last deadlift 225.

Input? Sure! If you can good morning half your deadlift work weight for sets of 8, your deadilfts aren't very heavy yet.