Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Need a Help!

Default Need a Help!

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi everyone!
    50 Y.O. guy needs a little help..
    After 2 months of absence from the gym I started training again in September. I have to say that last year I struggled to achieve my best weights and failed to regain 7 kg. of bodyweight I had lost for several reasons (job lost..many things have changed). But this year I decided to do well and regain my bodyweight and to do so I started eating as if there was no tomorrow ..and since I had to re-start my training I decided to do 3x10 three times a week with a basic full-body (squat/press/rdl's + some little assistance).
    I started gaining weight again, I started the 1st of September at 71kg. to 74kg. right now, with very little fat.
    So it worked!! Then I decided to start a H-L-M split. Squat and Press 3 times a week (with no Deadlift). To tell the truth, I kept a day (Friday) with 10 reps for Squats and Press (with Rest Pause for the last one) so it was: Monday 3x5; Wednesday 2x5 -10kg of Monday (squat) and 3x3 (Press); Friday 1x10 (Squat) 1x10+ R. Pause (Press).
    Again, it worked.
    Last week I managed 1x10 with 144Kg.(Squat) and 58kg. 1x10 (+5 + 3) (Press). My body weight increased to 76.5Kg. with the same % of fat (my mirror says so).
    Now, I gained more in these 2 months then in the whole last training year, I think because I really ate so much (if not I really don't know) :
    Squat 3x5 144Kg 1x10 144Kg. (I used the same weight from Friday 's to Monday's)
    Press 60Kg. 3x5 62Kg. 3x3 56kg. 1x10 (plus rest Pause)
    The problem is I really don't know where to go now, I thought something like:
    5x3 (Monday) 2x5 90% of Monday singles on Friday.
    The fact is I really liked the higher reps day, it needs a different kind of strength and to me it helped me gaining weight again.