starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Form check request on the big three

Default Form check request on the big three

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I am hoping to get some tips on my form - I have been hacking away at this since 2010 off and on and from now on its going to be ON. Never had a form check of any kind so I want to see if I can get steered in the right direction here. Some nagging hip pain has been slowing me down of late. I think its my left piriformis that is hurting.

Squat- currently 260lbs x 5. Not sure if my set up is very good. I feel most comfortable with what feels like a very narrow stance. Video shows 225lbs and 245lbs. http://youtu.be/M6cHQoP-lvI

Bench - currently 180lbs x 3. Never feel like I have a clue how to transfer what I've read in SS on set up into how to actually do it. Getting better slowly though.
    http://youtu.be/c4XSVwLjI34

Deadlift - currently 365lbs x 5. Always felt able to rip whatever weight off the ground but after video-ing my form I think it is pretty greasy after all. Video is 275 and 315.
    http://youtu.be/Z6nwHwMn5F0

Thanks again for all your work. Much respect.

Josh
    Last edited by jdavid; 02-15-2013 at 05:27 PM.

this is a bump after this got moved here from the Q&A

Oh my god, straighten your back on the deadlift before your spine falls off. Seriously.

I'll let actual coaches take it from here.

Thanks for the constructive advice.

I'm sorry, I didn't mean to come off as a dick. Re-read the SS book on deadlift form.

Shoes

What do you mean shoes?

Quote Originally Posted by danradin View Post
    I'm sorry, I didn't mean to come off as a dick. Re-read the SS book on deadlift form.
    Fair enough. I am reading it again now. Hope I can set my lower back better without too much need for big mobility changes.

Hard to tell with the black on black, but is your ass coming off the bench during your press?