starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lifting on a sailboat

Default Lifting on a sailboat

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    In about 5 years, I will be moving onboard and travelling the world. One of the many reasons I started training was to get strong and be able to handle the workload. I will be about 60 when I hit the water for good. I wish to continue with resistance training, but lugging plates, bar and a cage on a 45 foot vessel is not an option. I suppose a few plates and doing boy weight plus plates exercises could work.

Any one out there have other ideas?

Thanks.

Whale lifting.

As a sailing man myself, I don't really see a solution for you. Squatting heavy is right out.

The only thing that comes to mind is rigging up some kind of heavy resistance-band solution. Then maybe pay as you go for any real gym in port. Bodyweight pullups, pushups, and dips when at sea.

Isnt strength training on a ship a no brainer?

Think of the biggest martime/naval cliché...

Rope & cargo net climbing!

This has been brought up before Rip. You're going to find some way to lift on dry land.

Quote Originally Posted by Bloodninja666 View Post
    As a sailing man myself, I don't really see a solution for you. Squatting heavy is right out.

The only thing that comes to mind is rigging up some kind of heavy resistance-band solution. Then maybe pay as you go for any real gym in port. Bodyweight pullups, pushups, and dips when at sea.
    That's about what I see. Hmmmmm.

Quote Originally Posted by Dastardly View Post
    Isnt strength training on a ship a no brainer?

Think of the biggest martime/naval cliché...

Rope & cargo net climbing!