starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Olympic lifting question

Default Olympic lifting question

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Mark,
    I am starting to train with an Olympic lifting coach on Saturdays because I would like to eventually compete. I have competed in powerlifting for a few years ( I am 37) and want to continue (550 squat, 405, bench, 605 deadlift) but I am a complete novice with the olympic lifts. Would you take a look at my proposed layout. My thinking is that two of the days will be really to drive strength and the Olympic day to learn the lifts.

Thursday
    Squat 5x5
    Bench 5x5
    haltings 1x8/rack pull 1x5

Saturday
    Olympic lifts

Monday
    Squat 5 singles/5 doubles across
    Bench 5 singles/5 doubles across
    power clean 5x3/power snatch 5x2/shrugs 1x5
    Thank you

If you want to compete in the Olympic lifts, doing them 1x/week will not work. You'll have to do them a minimum of 3x/week, which will require a completely different schedule than the one you propose.

Quote Originally Posted by miked96 View Post
    Mark,
    I am starting to train with an Olympic lifting coach on Saturdays because I would like to eventually compete.
    I would also say that if you can, try to find instruction more than 1 day a week - I was originally self-taught mostly, and then finally got 1 day a week instruction. Later, I had a chance the work with a coach three times a week - the progress I made in comparison was AMAZING - I think I added 10kg to both my lifts in less than a month. You're strong enough that technique will be the main issue, and it takes a while to get to the point where you are even aware enough of what you're doing well to benefit too much from doing it yourself. If you can, even for a limited period, get more coaching, that'll make the process a lot easier and faster.