starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie needs advice on power cages

Default Newbie needs advice on power cages

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    After about two months on starting strength, I've come to the conclusion that my local gyms half-rack is probably dangerous, and so I'm looking to buy a power cage. I've looked at Rip's blueprints, searched these forums, and searched bodybuilding forums, and I'm still unsure what to buy. I've got a good 7'4 ceiling, so I don't need to worry too much about height. My budget is from $400 to $600, and I'd rather not use $600 because I still need to buy a bench (already have a bar and plates).

I'm somewhat concerned about fit, as I'm just under 6'5 with long arms and long legs. The problem is, I have no experience with these, so I'm not sure how a cage of given dimensions will fit.
    I'm, obviously, also concerned with durability. I'd like to be able to use it for lifts of a little over 500 pounds (safely).

With that in mind, I'm considering four options, but am more than open to new suggestions. Option 1 is Rip's power cage plans, which is built like a tank, but on the high end of the budget. Outside of that, I'm considering the following 3 cages.

New York barbell C-92563. I like the price, and the size seems good, but I'm somewhat concerned about the strength. Does anyone have any experience with this and using heavy weights?
    http://www.newyorkbarbells.com/92563.html

The Texas strength systems model. It seems durable, and has precise spacing, but it's fairly expensive, especially after shipping.
    http://www.texasstrengthsystems.com/powerracks.html

The powerline ppr200x. I'm concerned about the strength/durability. I can get it locally. Price is under $400. I'm not sure it offers anything over the New York barbell cage, even though it costs more.