starting strength gym

Thread: 'Practicing' heavy singles

Default 'Practicing' heavy singles

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Is there anything particularly wrong with starting out a light/medium day by working up to a moderately heavy single before doing the lighr/medium sets? I am thinking a top single with 2-3 reps left in the tank.

My thinking was just to get used to the feeling of and practicing heavier loads without really taxing the shit out of yourself like you would on a heavy day.

I have zero experience with this so just asking. Might be too much stress.

Nothing at all, except to pay attention to how that affects your overall progress. A heavy single is fine prep for lighter sets that day -- you just have to make sure you aren't adversely affecting progress overall with too much stress.

I've done this with squats and presses, working up to a 95% - ~100% single every day on an OL program (squat to heavy single, press to heavy single, then lots of snatch and C&J practice, 5-6 days per week; with 2 sessions/week finishing with 3x3 squats plus one session 1x5 heavy deadlift or rack pull plus two days a week of heavy bench).

RE your wl program: Holy poop.

Thanks. I'll give some singles a shot.

I've tried this, and it seems to have far more of a psychological effect than anything else.

If I have to do 3x5 squats at 380, doing a single at 405 won't really affect training that much, but dropping back down to 380 "feels" nice.
    Starting Strength Indianapolis is up and running. Sign up for a free 30-minute coaching session.
    I answer all my emails: ALewis@StartingStrengthGyms.com

I'm using heavy singles or triples followed by descending sets to maintain intensity and drive progress in some of my older Masters. Works well.

Quote Originally Posted by Jonathon Sullivan View Post