starting strength gym

Thread: Injuries, sports, and spreading yourself too thin

Default Injuries, sports, and spreading yourself too thin

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    • starting strength seminar april 2025
    Went to post a training log, ended up going on a rant about my injury history instead. If there is anything to gain from reading this it is basically this: if you want to get stronger you have to dedicate yourself solely to getting stronger for a while, playing sports is fun, but, if you're anything like me, they will directly impact your ability to train in material ways. And while I started training strength to improve at sports, I have found that the mental discipline and perseverance learned from strength training has geared me for other walks of life. By way of background let me introduce myself. My current measurables are:

26 year old male
    6'5"
    200 (yeah I need a cheeseburger or 3000)

Since about 2014 when I'm not playing basketball or softball I'm either strength training or legitimately injured. I did my first LP and in summer of 2014 I got to a 365/315/205 big three at about 205 BW (I don't remember the other lifts but I remember doing cleans and presses with 95 lbs as a warmup for my shoulders for some reason lol). Over the course of two consecutive basketball games that fall, I broke my thumb on my non-shooting hand, sprained my left ankle, and got a fracture in my right ankle, tough luck...was on the shelf until league playoffs.