starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gym has limited equipment, will I be able to do the program?

Default Gym has limited equipment, will I be able to do the program?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I recently discovered the Starting Strength program and have been reading the Practical Programming for Strength book. I've been impressed by the scientific methodology and lack of BS compared to other fitness problems. I'm a complete weightlifting beginner and have been thinking about starting the Starting Strength Model.

The problem is that I'm afraid my gym may be lacking the equipment to effectively execute the program. There is a barbell and bench press, but no "squat rack". Instead there is a squat machine (I believe it's called a smith rack?) that guides a barbell up and down a track at a fixed angle. Also, for deadlifts and presses there are only metal weights and I'm not sure how padded the floor is if I drop the barbell on the ground. In theory there is a personal trainer, but he seems to spend most of his time flirting with the girls although in fairness, I've never actually asked him for help.

So, given the restrictions above does it make sense to attempt the program? I know there's a lot of hate out there for the "smith racks", but does it matter for a beginner? Is there an alternative squat I can do instead? Should I be worried about the dropping barbells? If the lack of equipment is too much, are there any recommendations for programs similar to Starting Strength I can try with limited equipment? Unfortantely, switching gyms is not a viable option and I'm supsicious that the other two gyms in town don't have any better equipment anyway...

Don't drop your presses. No, the smith machine is not a valid substitute. It sounds like you can bench and you can press. Well, do what you can.

Quote Originally Posted by gerdemb View Post