starting strength gym

Thread: First squat form check

Default First squat form check

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    I dont have anyone that is knows anything about excercise so any help would be great.
    This video is with 188lbs. Im wondering if i need to widen my stance a little so i can get deeper or if im doing anything correctly that i read from SS3rd

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dBtks...ature=youtu.be

Thanks for any comments i get

I am new to SS: started 3 weeks ago so my technical knowledge is limited.
    I don't know if your stance is too narrow. I feel more comfortable with a little wider stance.
    The width of your power rack might prevent you from going wider. Building a platform would fix that issue, if it is an issue.
    The bar looks like it is higher on your back than you would want it to be for a low bar squat.
    Your elbows are very low.
    4 out of 5 squats broke parallel. Only one was high.
    Those are little things.
    I think your technique is very good for someone new to SS.
    If you are like me you want to refine your technique to get it as good as you can.
    Sometimes the right thing to do is just realize that your squat is very good for the amount of experience that you have.
    Just keep lifting and your technique will get better just from experience.
    Hope that helps.

before making any

Bar looks a little high on your back

Quote Originally Posted by Motorschweitz View Post
    Bar looks a little high on your back
    Thanks for the reviews guys. Yeah I'm having a bit of a range of motion issue right now trying to get the mobility in my shoulders to hold the bar low enough. Thought it may be a little high still. Appreciate the looks

Can't get a good view of the stance, but doesn't look bad.