starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: What to do for my bench + press?

Default What to do for my bench + press?

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    6'2
    220lbs

squats: 342lbs x 5
    bench: 195lbs x 5
    press: 134lbs x 5
    deadlifts: 375lbs x 5

cool story right? anyway, I've been doing the TM on squats and deadlift for like 2 months and it's going well (barring these past 2 weeks where I've fucked up my eating), but started benching/pressing on TM like 3 weeks ago. Hit 1kg PR on press first week and failed next 2 weeks because of the poor recovery I just mentioned.

Anyway, I'm obviously sorting the eating out, plan on going up to 230lbs (then maybe higher, idk yet) but it seems to really suck that if I mess up a week I have to wait 2 weeks to re-attempt the same weight on my bench/press. Even if I don't mess up, bench and press are only increasing once every 2 weeks, and life's too short for fortnightly 1kg PRs!!

So, my question: what can I do for my bench/press? I've only ever had microplates that let me load like this: 50kg, 51kg, 52.5kg, 53.5kg, 55kg, etc. but is it worth buying more microplates so I can do 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55 etc? Bearing in mind my gym's plates are different levels of wear, with the rubber on most plates being worn away to different degrees, which makes me worry the variance between plates will counter microloading to this degree. Also, when I was making progress on these lifts I noticed I failed as much on the 1kg jumps as I did 1.5kg, so I don't know if lower jumps will help?

Does it look like I can make any more LP on these lifts? If not, is there some faster way of increasing them than bi-weekly on the TM?

Cheers...