starting strength gym

Thread: Stress Reaction (prefracture) in Hip

Default Stress Reaction (prefracture) in Hip

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi Rip,

Friend runs XC and lifts heavy weights regularly has a stress reaction, so the pre-fracture injury in her hip joint. She won't be able to run cross country this season, and the doctor (who was apparently not very helpful) said to rest for 6 weeks. Essentially no physical activity. This injury has existed for 3 months, and pain has increased as she continued to lift and maintain her running regimen.

Would this be an injury that you would rest or work through? What would you recommend?

if squatting isn't possible, press and other exercises could at least continue

thanks from the both of us

Never heard of a "pre-fracture". It will probably need to be trained through since most do, but I have no experience with this injury. Just out of curiosity, does she drink milk?

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Never heard of a "pre-fracture". It will probably need to be trained through since most do, but I have no experience with this injury. Just out of curiosity, does she drink milk?
    Well it is technically called a "stress reaction", I just called it a pre-fracture because that's what the doctor explained it as in lay terminology.

here is a description of the difference between it and a fracture I found online

The difference between a 'reaction' and 'fracture' is a matter of degree. Both suggest a disruption of the bone metabolism. Fracture can be seen on most imaging studies (X-ray, MRI, CT scan), whereas a stress reaction only shows up as increased bone activity on a bone scan.