starting strength gym
Page 1 of 22 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Training without a belt

Default Training without a belt

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I'm a novice, in the midst of linear progression (42 y.o. male, 5'10", 190 lbs). Current lifts are:

Squat: 195lbs
    Press: 100
    Deadlift: 255
    Bench: 135

I apologize for the very basic question: I have to train away from my home gym for about week over Thanksgiving. Once I hit 175 on the squat and 200 on the deadlift, I have used a belt for last warm-up set and work sets of those movements. The belt I use belongs to the gym where I normally train (I do not yet have my own).

Without a belt, should I just continue at my next scheduled weights? Or should I de-load slightly to account for not having a belt? Or warm up and see how it feels?

Many thanks for your input.

You should own your own belt. Although, you should probably have no problem with that weight beltless. I would just do your regularly scheduled lifts.

You can train without the belt so do it. The belt is a useful tool that is to be used, but it shouldn't be your crutch.

That depends on how much you get out of a belt. I would reduce the weight to be on the safe side if your previous sessions left any doubt about your ability to handle the next session with a belt. If previous belted sets were around your limit of what you could do then, then unbelted sets at the same weight might be above your current limit.

Know starting strength is supposed to be about dat dere optimized progress, but one week with reduced weights does not make you a pussy.

[QUOTE=Cody;1430211]You should own your own belt.

This.