starting strength gym

Thread: Rest Days Do's and Don'ts?

Default Rest Days Do's and Don'ts?

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I recently (3 weeks ago) started the Starting Strength program.

A. Squat, Bench, Deadlift
    B. Squat, Press, Clean

I'm not really a novice to weight lifting so i started at higher weights currently i'm roughly at (im just recalling cause its not that important to the question)

Squat: 100 kgs
    Bench: 80 kgs
    Deadlift: 100 kgs (i hadnt been doing it until 3 weeks ago)
    Press: 30 kgs (side question, is that low?)
    Clean: 40 kgs

SO my question i understand better then most that rest, nutrition, etc is important BUT i'm not sure whats optimal. Let me explain

Is it ok to exercise (not weight lift) on your off days? Is their a limit to what you can do? for example

Monday: Squat, Bench, Deadlift
    Tuesday: 3 hours of Judo (intense)
    Wed: Squat, Press, Clean

Is that better then say

Monday: Weightlifting + Judo (after)
    Tuesday: Rest
    Wed: Weightlifting + Judo (after)

Please back your answer up with something! or simple link to something that answers my question in detail.

Thanks in advance

This "judo" you speak of, the "intense" judo...does it make you tired? If it does, chances are good that it might interfere with the recovery of an intermediate lifter whose recovery ability is compromised relative to that of a novice, as detailed in PPST.

i started judo literally a week before i started SS.
    the answer is that you cannot do both at the same time if you are starting both.
    this is of course based on my sole judo and SS training combined.
    we are literally throwing and being thrown hundreds of times each session (3x a week). this is extremely taxing on the leg and core. i mentally could not deal with settin x5PR's every workout with sore legs 7days/week (mainly squat). maybe you can. i could not