starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advanced Novice Programming

Default Advanced Novice Programming

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    First, I have to admit that I haven't actually been doing the program... I own, and have read all of Mark Rippetoe's books, but I've been using the Stronglifts 5x5 program - two reasons 1) I love the app, and 2) I still can't get my arms into the rack position even with some coaching!

Anyway, I started lifting March 28th, 2015 at 44 years old, about 310# body weight, estimated 30% plus body fat. I had never lifted before in my life... I went from an empty bar to 380# Squat for 5x5, 410# DL for 1x5, 240# bench for 3x5, and 150# OHP for 5x5, by January for 2016. (bench and OHP maxes were at the end of October, 2015)

Unfortunately I had a tear in my left shoulder's rotator cuff, which diminished my ability to do Bench/Press movements and ultimately made it very difficult for me to do squats and deadlifts. I had an MRI in February of 2016, confirming the tear..

Anyway, for most of 2016 I did a lot of rehab work for my shoulder and I struggled with lifting lighter weights (up to 360# squat, 380# DL with several resets) - it wasn't until September/November that I was able to do a low bar squat without significant pain. Since then, I have been progressing..

I did a max single, for the first time ever, for squats at 465#on April 23rd, 1x5 @ 420# and 435# 1x5 for Deadlift, at a body weight of 280#, estimated 24-26% bodyfat. (I'm in a slight caloric deficit - I lose about 1#/week, I eat about 280-300grams of protein per day, I know that's not ideal, but face it - I'm still a fat f-er!)

My current working squat weight is 430#, 440# deadlift, 130# OHP, 180# bench. I've only been able to do OHP/BP painfree (mostly) for about 6 weeks.

So.... Here are my problems..