Default Press form check

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi all.

The basic stats:

BW: 187 lbs
    Height: 5'-10".

Began SS: 8/5/15 (with a one-month hiatus 9-11 to 10-10 while recovering from surgery and building a basement gym) so going on about 8 weeks now.

Before SS, I had never done any serious lifting work. I am a true rank novice.

Working sets (in lbs) as of 11/3/15:
    SQ: 170 (was at 190 but de-loaded to 160 to work on form issues I learned from my squat form check thread)
    Bench: 135
    DL: 235
    PwrClean: 90
    Press: 95

Anyway; here is the video for the Press form check. This is 95 lbs.
    https://youtu.be/Xd1GSKTCToQ

Thanks beforehand for any advice, tips, and observations.

JCR,

As mgilchest notes, your grip looks about 1" too wide on each hand. You want your forearms to be perpendicular to the floor.

You go through the steps to achieve a good grip with neutral wrists, but then let your wrists bend back. Keep them in a neutral, non-bent back position, with the bar directly over the bones of your forearms. The bar will probably not be racked on your shoulders, which is fine.

Shrug up harder at lockout. Really hard.

Scott
    Last edited by Scott Hanson; 11-04-2015 at 02:20 PM. Reason: clarification

Quote Originally Posted by mgilchrest View Post
    ... Mainly because your core isn't tight enough.
    Thanks, mgilchrest. I start squeezing the quads tight and then move up and squeeze the abs to create the "bow" tension. This was my third set and I was at my tired worst. However, could it also be due to weak abs?

Quote Originally Posted by Scott Hanson View Post
    JCR,