starting strength gym
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Pat's Training Log

Default Pat's Training Log: 46, M, with some side yoga and bodyweight and mountain biking and

• starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hey everybody, I'm happy to have found this place and it's a good time to start a training log.

I'm Pat. 46, M. 6', starting at 204 and around 17% BF. Married and 2 kids(13yo daughter, 9yo son). By day I work in IT for a large coffee company in Seattle, and I also teach graduate courses in Christian spirituality at a few local universities. Life is full.

I started StrongLifts a few months ago and followed the program pretty strictly until early/mid-December, when I tweaked my lower back doing squats, then a shoulder doing handstand training after yoga on an off day. I posted some form check videos to a Reddit site for SL and got decent feedback but it's hard to learn the lifts from reading and watching videos. Especially for those of us of a certain age who get out of sorts a bit and recover more slowly than you youngsters.

As I was looking around the Internet for more form help, I discovered Starting Strength through some of Rip's videos (not sure what was first; maybe the Art of Manliness ones). I ordered the book, loved it so much I gave it away to my brother the athletic trainer, and ordered myself another copy.

Last weekend I scheduled a training session with an SS coach near me, to form check all the lifts, learn the Power Clean, and really make the transition from StrongLifts to Starting Strength. SL was helpful to me, but the SS book and the different attitude convinced me to move this direction.

So I'll start this training log here, as a transition to Starting Strength and a hello to this forum.