starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: When is it normal to use smaller increments?

Default When is it normal to use smaller increments?

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    I'm on my 4th week of SS and this week I've failed to complete my work sets on bench, deadlift, and press over the past few workouts. I'm doing 5 lb increment for bench, 15 for deadlift, and 5 for press. I'm eating at a large surplus and tracking my calories. I rest for 2 min between sets. I get at least 7 hours of sleep per night. I eat sufficient protein.

Is there something wrong with what I'm doing, or do you really drop to smaller increments this early? I always thought you could do these increments for a couple months.

I'm 23, 5'10", 165.

I'm no expert, but I can see that the rest time between sets is too short. When you start lifting maximally, you may have to take 5+ mins between sets. If that doesn't do the trick, you might have to do a deload and ramp up again. Be sure to get some 1.25lb plates as well.

Best of luck on your lifting!!!

Yes, 2 minutes between sets is going to be too short by this point. You're also still underweight which doesn't help. To answer your question, your assumption that you can make these increments for a couple months is way off the mark; at best it only applies to heavy people which you're not one of. So, you need to drop to 2.5 lb jumps for the bench and press, and down to 10 lbs for the deadlift and possibly even 5 lbs. If I were in your shoes, I would just drop to 5 lb jumps on the deadlift to give yourself the best chance of sustaining progress.

Quote Originally Posted by MikeC1 View Post