starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: SS For Individuals Who Already Has Good Barbell Training Base but with Novice Stats.

Question SS For Individuals Who Already Has Good Barbell Training Base but with Novice Stats.

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi Rip, I just bought your SS and PPFST. Please be easy on me as I am just new to this forum and would really appreciate you replying to what I have to ask. I'm going to give SS a shot tomorrow and would like to have some clarifications before I start.
    I've been working out for 10 months following a non-starting strength type program which incorporates some form of weekly linear progression. My current stats are the following.

1. 125lbs to 150lbs @ 12.5% body fat, 174cm (5'8.5")
    2. Squat: 65kg to 87.5kg for 3 sets of 5 @RPE 8.5-9.5
    3. Deadlift: 80kg x 5 to 105kg for 5 reps @RPE 10
    4. Bench Press: 50kg x 5 too 65kg for 3 sets of 5. @RPE9-10
    5. Press: 30kg to 42.5kg for 3 sets of 5 reps @RPE 9.5-10
    6. Power Cleans: 30kg to 50kg for 3 reps @RPE7.
    7. Pull Ups: 14 reps.

I need your advice on the following questions below:
    1. Will you still consider me a candidate for the gallon-of-milk per day or will you put me into the conservative approach of eating at a 500kcal surplus a day, since I already gained most of my weight during the first 10 months of training?
    2. Will you still consider me a candidate for the novice progression or have I wasted my novice capabilities of adapting on a training to training basis?
    3. What should my starting weights need to be for each lift needs to be in order to prevent myself from stalling too early and so that my weekly bodyweight increase can keep up with my lifts? A 10-15% load drop?
    4. What would be the ideal bodyweight for me to have, given my height?

Thanks!

1. No. Just eat more.