starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Gaining 100 lbs in both squat and dead lift for a newb. getting to 400#s

Default Gaining 100 lbs in both squat and dead lift for a newb. getting to 400#s

• starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    i started lifting after like 3 years on Feb 10th. Since I've gotten my squat up to either 3x3 or 5x5 of 275.

Based on the newbs you have trained how long has it taken them or yourself to add 100 pounds on your squat. I want to move 400.

Same with dead lift, i'm at about 275 3x3 looking to get to 400.

Any experience on time line. As far as volume I'll do whats recommended.

Either 3X3 or 5X5? Do you not keep track of your reps and sets? That would be the first step to making progress towards 400.

You'll find a lot of people here like Rip's Starting Strength program, or some of the variants of it laid out in Practical Programming. It is a very difficult thing to say how long it will take you to reach your desired numbers because of the number of variables involved. What we can say for sure is that the time will be measured in months. Depending on who you are, it might be four months, or maybe sixteen months. It is likely that your deadlift will reach 400 before your squat does. We have no idea how tall you are, what you weigh, how old you are, how much you eat, how much you are willing to eat, how you train, how often you train, and probably four or five other considerations that would impact all of this. It's also not clear how much you squat now. There's a big difference between a 5x5 and a 3x3.

I got
    315 x 5 - Sept 13 2010
    405 x 3 - March 11 2011
    6 months
    I weight 200 lbs
    I use 8 sets of 3 reps for my volume day and I SWEAR by it.
    Last edited by Carnivroar; 03-12-2011 at 11:03 PM.

how much weight did you add to your lifts using 8x3?

Quote Originally Posted by exter View Post
    how much weight did you add to your lifts using 8x3?