• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Age 59, 5’4”, 140 lb.
    Squat: 130 lb
    Deadlift: 205 lb
    Overhead Press: 90 lb
    Bench Press: 145 lb
    Pull-ups and chin-ups: 5 reps with 38 lb weight

8 years of random strength training using machines and dumbbells, mostly upper body. Lower body work was ham curls, leg extensions, and leg presses on an inclined sled. I have been doing SS for 3 months, and I read the book.

I started with 50 to 60 lb weights and followed the program. Before SS, I could handle the loads listed above. I have stalled on linear progression at my pre-SS strength. My weight has not increased at all. Squats are weak, pull-ups are strong, everything else seems average.

I eat well, quarter to half gallon skim milk per day, eggs, chicken, fish, vegetables, grain cereals, and whey protein shakes. I don’t eat fast food, french fries, or donuts.

I expected linear progression would have increased my strength by at least 10 percent by now, but it didn’t happen. What’s wrong here?

You are probably not eating enough. Calories-protein/day?

I don't count calories or grams of protein. There's too much uncertainty unless you measure and weight everything.

Before I started SS, I knew how much I had to eat to maintain my weight. When I began the program, I started eating much more than I had been used to. It seemed like I put on a few pounds, but that might have been water weight or a little extra fat I eventually lost.

This is a typical day for me:

Breakfast:
    Grape Nuts or oat cereal with skim milk
    Milk shake with protein powder and a bannana

Snack:
    Shredded Wheat, raisins, and almonds
    Skim milk

Lunch:
    Chicken breasts or fish
    Two servings brocolli, carrots or green been
    One or two hardboiled eggs
    Fruit

Snack:
    Shredded Wheat, raisins, and almonds
    Fruit

Dinner:
    Chicken or fish, sometimes pizza
    Vegetables
    Rice, sometimes potatoes

Snack: