starting strength gym

Thread: Going into a fit after power cleans.

Default Going into a fit after power cleans.

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    This is an embarrassing one...

I'm 22 year old Male. I've been doing starting strength for around 7 months, but only added power cleans in the last few weeks. No health complaints at all.

I was doing 75kg power cleans today and felt light headed on a few in the rack position. I didn't think anything of it as I've always felt lightheaded at the top since starting power cleans a few weeks ago, but it's worth noting that today was considerably hotter than when I've tried them in the past.

I was doing them next to a squat rack and thought that on the final rep I'd rack the bar in the squat rack (I won't be doing this again.) In my light headed state, I was having trouble getting the bar into the rack so my training partner came over and helped me get it in place.

The next thing i know, i'm on the floor, my body went in to a spasm for 30 seconds or so, which has never happened before inside or outside of the gym. I have a mark on my temple where my head has hit something, I can't recall if this happened before or I started spasming. I've never gone into a fit or anything similar in the past.

Is this something I can put down to "drink more water when you work out in a hot gym" or should I be consulting my doctor. I did drink around 500ml during the workout but maybe that's not enough.

Is it common to feel light headed with power cleans?

On a good note I did make all 5x3 power cleans so can't complain too much.

Just seen this has been put in repetitive inquiries.

Is it safe to assume that the fit that I went into wasn't directly linked to the power cleans/light head, and it was the bump to my head that caused me to have a fit?

Vasovagal syncope?

Try this google search string: site=startingstrength.com clean faint