starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Overhead Press and back muscle activation/tightening

Default Overhead Press and back muscle activation/tightening

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    Hi- I am new at this so....

I am practicing the overhead press with really low weight bar- just to get the form down etc. And as soon as I finish even 2-3 really good reps where I pause at the top, my back muscles around my scapula pull in really tight. It feels good- it pulls my shoulders back and down. But kind of weird that this would happen so fast and even with low weight and few reps? I even tried it with a shower curtain rod and it did it? I am pretty sure my form is good. I've never had my back muscles contract like this before- I think it is the lower traps or lats just under the scapula- in that region. It doesn't hurt- just kind of freaky? The tightness or activation or whatever it is will last about 30 minutes.

So I am new to all of this- maybe that is just waking up my muscles?

Mr. Rippetoe, I believe if anyone has ever heard of this happening before it would be you and I would really appreciate hearing what you think. (I am hoping you will will say "Don't worry buddy that is totally normal!")

Thank you very much!

Have you read the part about reaching up with your shoulders at the top of the press?

Gosh, thank you Sir! Yes but I guess I glossed over that fact- I have been holding my shoulders down with my lower traps. I guess because I do not want to develop large upper traps (female here). I already have a tendency for my shoulders to elevate during the day, I didn't really want to train that..... but I will do it right from now on Just sort of worried about training that movement..

So just to confirm- my ****ENTIRE**** shoulder girdle is supposed to go up? Reach up **AS HIGH AS CAN** with that area beside my armpits. **COMPLETELY** let go of my lower traps?-

thank you